Goodbye Ordinary

Day 58: Sub’ing for Sanity

Posted on: May 28, 2013

So, anyone with children knows… plans are a joke.

I’m surprised I’ve been able to work evening practices into my schedule as much as I have in the past month. Tonight, it was near impossible though.

My children hate going to sleep. Every single night I get the “can I stay up late?!” “But why not??” “Just one more story/song?” “I have to pee” “I need a drink” “I need my light on” “I need to change my pajamas” etc.

Tonight was worse than usual and my eyes were bugging me. I just wanted them to go to sleep nicely, after a story. The little devils wouldn’t get in the bathroom and brush their teeth though! Despite me standing in the hallway, tapping my toe, and humming the jeopardy countdown in my head… they would NOT do it. “I need my other toothbrush… it’s downstairs” “I don’t like that toothpaste” “We’re out of kid mouthwash, I’ll use yours—ahhhh, it’s too spicy, now I need a drink” zomg. Just brush your dang teeth and get in your bed!

After 45 minutes of them bumbling around they finally got in bed, in their chonies, and I had had it. It was past their bedtime. It was encroaching on my yoga time. I have morning yoga in the morning, brats! I need to be ASLEEP by 11 and I have to shower after yoga! 😦

Needless to say, I didn’t have time for balance tonight. So, I subbed. I did Travis Eliot’s Short & Sweet #2, and it was a great practice. It did feel rather “short” though. I apparently was thirsting for a long practice tonight. It hit all the right places though and at least I managed to get that in.

Sidenote— the scissor holds near the end are amazing. My core was on fire from those.

Now I’m off to bed so I can be on my mat at the studio bright and early. It feels like it’s been forever (a whole week!).

For all of you that are doing the UY program, we have to honor ourselves, our hectic lives, and all of the hindrances that come up along the way. We may not be able to get on our mat for the full amount of time that is necessary to complete a UY dvd, but every minute that we are on our mat counts, however long it is. Do what you can, when you can. It all counts on our way to being better yogis; on our way to being ultimate.

Namaste,

Brin

Leave a comment