Goodbye Ordinary

Day 57: Feelin’ great at 8

Posted on: May 28, 2013

Last night I did yoga cardio. (I switch Sunday and Monday sometimes, since I go to class Monday morning and it’s usually a pretty good “flow” class and I need more of a “rest” day on Sunday. So, I stuck to that schedule even though we didn’t have class due to Memorial Day yesterday, and did Mountain Pose on Sunday and Cardio yesterday.

I haven’t done cardio in a while because I’ve been at the studio instead. I used to dread cardio. It’s probably the class (along with balance) that kills me the most.

I’m working on my upper body strength, but when I first started yoga in November 2011, I could barely stay in plank for more than 2 seconds and doing a chatturanga and floating into up-dog was something I only dreamed of. It was more a wobble-like-crazy-in-plank-for-a-second….DROP-to-your-belly… up-dog.

But last night was different.

Last night, not only did I make it through the entire series of 5… then the series of 10… BUT I made it through every single vinyasa in the class without collapsing on my chatturanga. My flow-through to updog wasn’t perfect every time, however there was NO plopping onto my stomach.

I couldn’t help but smile in every crescent pose past “sick at six”, especially on the left side. I was getting tired at 8, but at that point, I was so close I just set my mind to it “only two more”.

I felt incredible. I felt strong. I felt on my way to being ultimate.

Day 57

Then I went to bed and slept like the dead… to wake up at 7am and realize I had set my alarm for 6, but not until Wednesday. So now I have to do Balance tonight at some point. Joy.

Trying to keep that ultimate spirit up even through the challenge of work and balance tonight.

Namaste,

Brin

4 Responses to "Day 57: Feelin’ great at 8"

Sleeping like a log, means you killed it! Nice work πŸ™‚

Congrats on your hard work. It looks like you are doing amazing. This definitely inspires me to push harder with my workout. Best of luck with everything πŸ™‚

Thanks! πŸ™‚ I honestly don’t see much change in my body yet (well, aside from the muscle tone in my arms). But I definitely *feel* the difference. I think if I added more cardio to my life I’d see more difference in my body, unfortunately I’ll be honest… that isn’t going to happen because of time. I’m just hoping that perseverance will pay off and a daily practice will eventually give me the body I want.

If you keep pushing yourself, you will achieve anything you want. If you want to read some inspirational and motivational stories from my life, you are more than welcome to come by my blog and have a Cup of Joe πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

