Goodbye Ordinary

Too Long

Posted on: February 24, 2015

Today I rolled out my mat to actually practice YOGA instead of one of the BeachBody programs that I’ve been doing off an on for almost a year now…

I did make it to ONE yoga class at the wonderful Main Street Yoga a while back, but still. Really? Who is this person I’ve become?!

I got lazy. I got chubby. I lost stamina, muscle tone, balance (both physically and mentally), and man do I miss my peeps.

I almost didn’t roll out my mat today (for yoga, that is). I decided I was in fact going to exercise, but my daughter laid down for a nap, I resisted the urge to curl up next to her, but I almost picked a beachbody workout that was more in the 30 minute range… So that I COULD be lazy after while she was still asleep.

Instead I was moving around DVDs on the corner shelf that hasn’t been touched in ages, and found my The Ultimate Yogi set wedged behind some other DVDs and thought hmm… “I miss Travis” So, I popped in CrossTrain and got to it.

I haven’t done a UY asana in probably a year. It makes me sad to say that. UY was such a part of my life for a while… and then it started collecting dust as life got busy and though the intention was never to let it go so long, one day turned into a week, into a month, into months, into a year… and bam. Here we are.

I was intimidated to press play. I couldn’t remember the practice, I knew it used to be a favorite, but I am NOT in the shape I used to be in. I knew it lasted 50ish minutes, and that those minutes seem long when you’re out of shape… But somehow, I managed to press play. I am SO glad that I did.

The entire practice, I felt my muscles stretching, lengthening, and groaning a bit. It felt GOOD. It felt like home.

I paused a few different times as I realized that I had a smirk on my face- like one you get when you are reminiscing with an old friend.

My body remembered.

I wasn’t distracted at all. I listed to Travis’s cues and focused on my ujjayi breath and just fell into the flow.

I’m not going to lie during that last flow I almost just took child’s pose and waited it out. I was tired. My arms felt like they were going to give out during every chatturanga of that flow, my legs were shaking, but I felt beautiful. I felt free. I felt like ME.

How did I let myself lose such a big piece of me for so long? The truly crazy part is, I didn’t even realize that it was missing until I found it today.

Now if only I could get a daily practice back into my routine, it’d all be peachy.

Namaste

1 Response to "Too Long"

I have been there hundreds of times. I know exactly what coming back feels like. Where there’s a will…
Love you, darlin’ Namaste.

Leave a Reply

