Goodbye Ordinary

Day 52: Still Alive

Posted on: May 22, 2013

I’ll be honest and admit that I haven’t completed the corresponding DVD to go with every day of UY in the past two weeks.

However, I *have* at least done SOME form of yoga every day. My children have been sleeping like crap and it’s been near impossible for me to roll out of bed each morning, alive. I can’t even fathom rolling out of bed and actually practicing a full 60-80mins of intense vinyasa in that condition. Eek.

A few days I opted to sleep in and do my practice at night, which is even worse I think than fighting through the sleepies in the morning and getting it done. So, I’m not making a habit if that one. Now that I’ve gotten used to it, I’m definitely a morning practitioner.

So, here we are. Day 52. Almost halfway completed.

Yesterday was one of the days that I practiced at night, it was actually 9:40pm before I even started (balance). I was tired. My daughter had barely slept the night before. She was up screaming her head off from about 11pm untli 3:30am. The joys of motherhood.

But, I knew I really needed yoga and I really need the balance class. Both physically and mentally.

We’ve already established I’m a nutcase. I love navasana. I love balance poses. I love the intensity, the rush, then the bliss that follows. Travis Eliot’s balance class is SO that. I laugh a lot, through beads of sweat. I roll my eyes. I breathe. My core is constantly being put to work and I’m aware that I’m alive and working

There is very little that compares to the rush of excitement when you realize you somehow managed to stay balanced on one foot for the duration of the pose. It may have not been pretty. It may have hurt like a biatch. But, dang it, I did it! << I had that feeling of triumph on the second side of the warrior 3 pose flow. I wobbled. I wasn’t as graceful as the instructors on the dvd… but I managed to keep my right foot off the ground the whole time!

It was hot and muggy in my room. I was literally dripping sweat. It was super hard to keep hold of my ankle in…. dancer? pose because I was so slick. But, it was amazing.

 photo IMG_20130521_221721_258_zpse7b61f9b.jpg

Glistening with sweat. Yes, I paused the dvd to snap a photo.

The savasana and good night’s sleep that followed the practice were even more amazing. I haven’t had a workout that satisfying in a while, and you all know how much I love yoga.

It was a mind game though. I had to talk myself into keeping the dvd in multiple times. I was ready to quit and go to bed because it was so late… But in the end I completed the whole class, and got to bed at around 11:40.

Then it was morning yoga this am at 6:15 at the studio. It was a super sweet class and I just love my fellow Main Street yogarians, and my yogamama Kath ❤

I’ll try to get back in the blogging groove.

Namaste,

Brin

Leave a Reply

