Goodbye Ordinary

Day 18: Practice Makes Peace

Posted on: April 18, 2013

Day 18.

I am tired. So tired. I went to bed early again last night and then almost overslept this morning. I think I need more sleep on a nightly basis (duh, I HAVE known that for a really long time… I just haven’t ever made it a priority.). Daily hour-long-yoga kind of forces you to be true to your body and it’s needs instead of just doing what YOU want. You get to a point where you cannot just push through. Your body takes over. You must honor it.

My body is feeling stiff and sore. My arms feel weak, but on fire. My thighs were screaming as I ascended the stairs to the studio this morning, feeling the work that I did yesterday. It’s that “hurt so good” feeling. Somewhere between “ahhhh” and “AHHHH”.

My hips, which are insanely flexible, to the point where it’s kind of ridiculous, still feel creaky and tight. The crunch I feel when I windshield wiper my legs from side to side was audible this morning.

We did this awesome neck stretch this morning that I don’t recall ever doing before. While resting on your elbows, place your chin in one hand and the other hand behind your head, and lightly turn into it. It was heavenly.

I struggled with ujjayi again today. There were times were I got in the groove, then it’d dissipate. Then be back. Then go. Gah. It gets kind of frustrating, especially now that I’ve had a practice where I focused so intently on it. I’m pretty sure that’s why I’m so sore today, I didn’t FEEL the intensity quite as intensely because of my focus on my breath. I was able to push farther than normal, and man. I still feel the effects of it. I want to get to that place every time I practice!

If you’ve been reading my blog you may know that I attempted the Ultimate Yogi with Travis Elliot a while back. I completed the first series, and got off track partially through the second series. I’m using this challenge as a springboard to where I left off. I’ll go back to the UY dvd’s on day 31. I plan to commit to it this time and NOT give up. That will put me at finishing on July 17th (if I did that calculation correctly). Well I found out yesterday that Udaya is planning a July release for Yoga Warrior 365 with Rudy Mettia.

At this moment, it’s just a dream that I’d be able to complete an entire year of a daily practice. Other than the 40 some days of UY (and the 2 yoga challenges) my practice has been irregular, usually about 2-4x a week. However, I know it IS possible, and I would love to get to that point in my practice. I prefer the person that I am when I do yoga regularly to the person that I am when I haven’t practiced in a while. To go a little farther, I vastly prefer the person I am even when I practice once every 2 weeks to the person I was before my very first yoga class. It really is a night and day difference.

So, I’ll be purchasing the Yoga Warrior 365 series when it comes out. At some point in my life, I’ll complete all 365. For now, I’m just going to focus on this first 30 days, from one breath to the next.

My thoughts and prayers are continuing to be with those affected by the tragedies in our world.

It is my continued intention that I will make an honest effort to find out the meaning of ahimsa in my life, and start practicing more peacefulness.

Namaste.

Brin

 

Leave a Reply

