Goodbye Ordinary

Days 6 & 7: Victoriously Indulge.

Posted on: April 7, 2013

Friday night was a much needed indulgence. Good food, good friends, good drinks, good dancing, good times.

Did I mention drinks?

I don’t go out very often. When I do, I don’t realize how “good” of a night it’s been until it’s too late.

My friend and I had a laid back evening, but when my best friend in the world and his girlfriend showed up… it got serious. The dancing started. And that’s when it hit me. Bam. I was drunk.

We danced through it. Had a blast. Though both my beautiful friend and I wondered if we were going to puke on the dance floor… WE DIDN’T! We left the bar/club whatever you want to call it at 1:30ish, and when we hit the sidewalk outside, we were both once again reminded JUST how much we’d drank… And VICTORY: we didn’t puke in public! Woooot!

She requested McDonalds. At quarter of 2 am. While drunk. I couldn’t handle it. You may not want to read this, but I’m going to write it anyway because it’s hysterical and kinda gives a touch of yogi to this party post… I ordered a LARGE water. I had my head out the window of the truck, dry heaving. The entire time we were in the drive thru AND on the drive home because “IT SMELLS SO DISGUSTING!!!! YOU ARE EATING STRAIGHT GREASE!!!!” And every other dramatic negative thing you could say about McDonald’s food… Yes. That was me.

 photo PhotoGrid_1365373379785_zpsc0be1f8a.jpg

I wrote this on my cup when I took it that next day to yoga… I had been refilling it and drinking my weight in H2O all day… But, yogis and McDonald’s?! No. I had to redeem myself! lol

While we were in the drive-thru… We realized that behind us, someone had taken a taxi THROUGH the drive thru! Yessss! We could see the (drunk) person in the back seat and we giggled and giggled. I of course HAD to have a photo..

Photo: Someone took a taxi through the drive thru! Yessss

I hopped out of the truck to get that photo and the cab driver laughed. It was epic.

Day 6.

Due to child care availability, I went to the evening class. I was still hurting from the night before. I needed to sweat it out. I needed movement that wasn’t just in my mind. (ha).

I’m sure my fellow practioners didn’t appreciate it, Sorry friends!!, but Kath once again indulged me. We got the sweat rolling. It was amazing and I felt like a different (and sober) person after savasana. We spent the rest of the evening at Jon’s house. Colored some eggs and watched Horton Hears a Who.

Day 7.

It is amazing what a full night’s sleep can do for you. I went to bed around 10 last night. Got up at 8 this morning. Ahhhh sleep <3.

Got the kids around for church with Grama so that I could make it to yoga.

Yoga. I can’t help but feel a little flutter when I think that word. Yoga. It’s like a promise, a prayer of sorts. I don’t know that I’ll ever get sick of it. “I wish I hadn’t gone to yoga” Said NO ONE. EVER. I absolutely am in love with yoga. It’s always exactly what you need it to be. If you are true to yourself, than you never over or under- do it. You just do, what is right for you.

Kath read the lyrics to the song Exactly by Amy Steinberg the other night and it resonated with me.

“I am exactly where I need to be
I need to be exactly where I am
I am surrendering so willingly
to be the perfect me inside this now
and truly how else could it be
destiny she blesses me
when I try to fight or run
I only wind up back at square one
when I think I know what’s best for me
fate she takes me back
to exactly where I need to be”

I’ve came to the conclusion that your twenties are hard. So many huge decisions. So many different opportunities that completely change your life. With that, so many opportunity costs for choosing one and not the other. It’s hard. I wish I had a glimpse at my life in 20 years, to know which turn I should take. Since I don’t. I guess I’ll continue on like I’m going now. Living in the moment. Being present. We’ll see where it takes me.
Jai Baghwan!
Brin
1 Response to "Days 6 & 7: Victoriously Indulge."

Oh Brin…it is this moment that you have to worry about. Live it fully. Consciously! Joyfully! We are in the same wave length…yeah – Yoga does that to you. Puts you right there! m.

Leave a Reply

