Goodbye Ordinary

Detour to MSY

Posted on: January 31, 2013

Sometimes, you just have to take a break from your routine,  from your reality, and go back to where it all started.

The beginning of this Ultimate Yogi journey has been challenging, and there for a moment I was slacking and wondering why I am even bothering… So I took a day off of the schedule, and instead I went back to where it all started. Main Street Yoga.

I haven’t been there more than once in the past month and a half or so. I’ve missed it terribly, but for one reason or another, I just haven’t been able to get there. I walked in and saw Kath’s welcoming smile “Oh hey!” It was like returning home from a long vacation.

Finally.

I claimed my usual spot in the front row, and warmed up, excited and ready. Kath promised it’d be a sweet stretchy practice, and she didn’t disappoint. I was very thankful it wasn’t “Strength” because that practice is killer, and until I have the strength of mind thing down, I haven’t been able to go into that practice in a positive way like the first week (when I didn’t know what was coming)… which then, defeats the whole purpose of the practice.

My hips were so fluid and open by the end of the practice, I could have chilled in yoganidrasana a while had I had the time.

I felt rejuvenated and whole.

Sometimes, I think we get terribly lost while trying to reach a destination. We have to remember though, it’s not the destination that’s important. It’s the journey, and sometimes, detours can be the very best part.

Namaste,

Brin

1 Response to "Detour to MSY"

This warmed my heart! (as did seeing you back in your yoga “home.” Your great wisdom about detours really landed for me. Thanks for this.

Leave a Reply

