Goodbye Ordinary

It’s all in my head.

Posted on: January 23, 2013

Day 10. Strength.

Lets just say today was not my day.

The day in itself was fine, but my practice… it’s literally day and night from yesterday’s practice to today’s. Which is funny, because last week I hated cardio and didn’t mind strength. This week, I loved cario and…well… strength. HA.

I don’t think it was the practice’s fault. It started with bedtime. Oh the joys of bedtime. Little Miss wanted to sleep with her brother but he didn’t want her to. Little Miss wanted her light on but mom is mean and won’t let her keep it on at night (she has a night light she refuses to use, and the hall light stays on). So, what did Little Miss decide to do? Live up to her Diva nickname and scream. For like 10-20 minutes about those two things. Needless to say, I was distracted.

She finally fell asleep and I was tired. I briefly considered just going to bed but I was like… NO. So I popped in the DVD and halfheartedly started. That’s where I went wrong. I should have taken a few minutes first to prepare my mind… But I didn’t. I wasn’t “in” it from the very first down dog. So obviously, it didn’t fare well for the rest of my practice.

It was hard. My arms shook. My legs shook. My poor glut that is extra sore felt like it wanted to scream. I just wasn’t on my game.

But, that’s what this journey is about.

I saw this post today..

and… I suppose, that’s true. And this journey, is part of my life for the next 98 days, so I guess I better embrace the ups and downs right now.

But, I’m still hoping that tomorrow is back on the up.

Namaste,

Brin

2 Responses to "It’s all in my head."

I know exactly how you feel about just not being in it from the beginning! But you did it and you can smile at that. 99% is just showing up!

You’re absolutely right regarding “that’s what this journey is about”–how, from moment to moment, despite continually judging ourselves over and beyond what’s present in the breath, yoga helps us accept and even embrace these misfit moments as well as the “on my game” ones.

Each moment is a gift, and thank you for sharing these moments.

Leave a Reply

