Goodbye Ordinary

Just Smile.

Posted on: January 22, 2013

Today was a great day.

It was an ordinary day. The same as any other day. But I think I was slightly different.

My alarm went off, I rolled my eyes and snoozed. Same as every morning. Then the little monster man jumped on me… Oh dang. Kid I have 9 minutes until the snooze alarm goes off again! I sighed. Then decided to actually get out of bed BEFORE the snooze alarm. Imagine that!?

I got ready for work, prepared myself for the blistering cold that awaited outside… and off I went to work. The ground is covered in snow. The trees glisten a bit in their snow covered state. The mountainside looked so sleepy and peaceful… Like it was sleeping in.  Go figure.

I got to work and again, it was ordinary. But, somewhere along the morning (pre-coffee even), my mood changed. My muscles still have the sweet sensation of being worked (but not too much). My mind feels rested and alive. I feel… joyful.

I can’t explain why, or how. I just smile; and so I smiled all day.

I didn’t get angry or upset with anyone (for once!). I just smiled.

Thankfully, that even carried into my evening with the kids. On a normal week, I’m ashamed to admit it but, I’m tired when I get home from work and I don’t want to do much of anything. I don’t want to play a game. I don’t really want to be talked at in both ears at the top of your lungs. I just want to chill out.

But not today.

Today I walked in the door and was quickly shown a coloring page of Dora the Explorer, not only by little miss, but by my grampa, who was so proud of how well she did (Seriously, she did AWESOME). Then of course the kids just about tackle me with hugs and kisses and “YOU’RE BACK”. And… I smiled. Granted, that puts a smile on my face every time, but this time it was different.

The boyfriend came over too, so he entertained the kids so I could get cardio done. I was kind of dreading it all day (except not really… I was excited too. I wanted to do better than last week, where it almost killed me.)

I took the day that I’d had, and the joy that I was feeling to my mat. I decided to make the intention that “I’m going to meet each moment as it arises with my whole heart…” (same as always, thanks Kath), “…and in those moments of struggle, I’m going to smile”. Then I started.

I took 2 breaks during this practice, both of them being the last round of one of the vinyasa’s, where I probably *could* have stuck it out, but I wasn’t ready for it, so I used that opportunity to breathe instead. But, when I got to the point in a pose that my mind instinctively was like “um… AHHH DYING….can’t…” or something along those lines… I reminded myself to A. Shut up. and B. Smile.

And I did.

Every time that I put that smile on my face (it wasn’t a fake smile either, and that is important! This was a smile that said “you’re alive, you’re healthy, you’re strong–and getting stronger!, you are ULTIMATE.”) I kept breathing, the pose got easier, and I did it.
I flowed through the vinyasa’s like I never have before. I felt so light and in control. I felt like I was doing exactly what I needed to be doing. I felt whole.

My love for yoga is still so new, it’s like discovering new things about a lover. And me and yoga… It’s true love. The kind that people blog about.

Namaste,

Brin

4 Responses to "Just Smile."

It is strange how much smiling (or frowning) can influence one’s mood, for better or worse. Even if you don’t know why you are smiling/frowning.
–JW

It’s true. Sadly, my face isn’t used to smiling all day. I hope to make it my new “neutral” face though. Yesterday I got a lot of comments at work about it, and it seemed like me smiling, made others smile too. That’s what life should be like! 🙂

This post was AWESOME! Do you know that the Ultimate Yogi people want to know about people who are blogging about the program? You should go on FB and insert your url. At the very least you would get a ton of new readers (which your blog most certainly deserves!!)

I posted it in a comment the other day! 🙂 I joined a group for The Ultimate Yogi Journey Round 2, too and everyone is so awesome! Not many people (aside from our yoga fam) understand the big deal of 9 days in a row… or WHY I would even want to do 108 days, if not to lose weight (which isn’t my intent)… So I’m glad to find some people who “get” it! ❤ Thanks Kath!

Leave a Reply

