Goodbye Ordinary

Selfish to be selfless

Posted on: January 21, 2013

One thing Travis said in one of the classes last week was “sometimes you have to be selfish to be selfless” regarding taking the time out of your life to stick to this (very time consuming) program.

I have to admit, I’m pretty selfish when it comes to yoga… well, to be honest, I may be a kind of selfish in many aspects… Maybe not selfish, but I’m one of those Type A personalities… It’s all about me types. I like myself quite a bit. But, I don’t see myself as overly arrogant in a negative way. I’m confident. I grew up moving across the country. I didn’t have best friends. I didn’t have roots. I had my parents… and I had myself. It sounds weird, because I honestly hate to be alone. I’m not an introvert. at all.

So, I’m rambling because my brain is like melted butter in my skull right now.

But anyway, what I’m trying to say, is in yoga, I can focus on myself the entire time. I can go inside and nothing else matters. I can forget about the world. The crazies that hurt innocent people. The shortcomings I have in my own life. The kids’ whining. The mountains of paperwork that I deal with on a regular basis.

For once in my life, I feel like my constant need for attention is fulfilled… by myself. It’s amazing.

Yoga is for YOU. and by you, I mean me. Yoga is *just* for me. 😛

In today’s class (Day 8: Crosstrain & hardCore), I felt strong. I felt beautiful (in spite of the sweat and crazy hair reminiscent of Ursula… or maybe because of it?). I felt grounded and whole. I wasn’t expecting to feel something so deep so early in the journey. But, I did.

 photo IMG_20130121_202728.jpg

Post-HardCore, Pre-Crosstrain

I can only hope it’s just a preview of what is to come in the next 100 days!

Namaste,

Brin

Leave a Reply

