Goodbye Ordinary

Mind over Matter

Posted on: January 19, 2013

Every day I have a better understanding of just how powerful our minds our. I used to think the “mind over matter” philosophy was a hoax… and I would roll my eyes when it was suggested as advice for a trying time in my life. After all, if it’s so easy to think yourself through it, then we’d all do it.

I was wrong.

With the challenging power yoga classes in The Ultimate Yogi series, I’m getting the evidence that mind over matter really works. There have been a few times that we go into a pose and I think negative thoughts… and immediately, my focus is lost. My strength and endurance are no where to be found, and I lose the pose all together. Then I mentally kick myself. I start thinking… “I can“. Then, luckily, Travis gives me another shot at the pose. I keep telling myself “I can do this. One breath at a time” etc. and guess what? I do it. Granted, not doing a pose is alright. It’s honoring where I am. But, the truth of the matter is, I can do most of these poses, to some extent. We all can. It may not look pretty. It may consist of shaking muscles and dripping sweat; but we can do our own expression of the pose, and little by little we’ll get there. 

I’m trying to remind myself of the “mind over matter” thing in other parts of my life too. It’s a mental workout that is definitely needed in my life, as well as many others.

… As for last night, yesterday was Detox yoga, I loved the practice… so much so that I fell asleep in savasana for the first time ever. Needless to say, I was relaxed to the max. I missed the hardcore add-on though, because by the time I woke up from savasana, all I could do was go to bed for real.

Namaste,

Brin

 

Leave a Reply

