Goodbye Ordinary

Killer Cardio

Posted on: January 15, 2013

Oh my goodness.

Ultimate Yogi cardio is NO joke.

My arms are dying. I couldn’t do all of everything, but when I felt like I was going to collapse, (set 6 of the killer 10 vinyasa) I just took a moment…. I had one fleeting negative thought, then was like.. “Dude, SHUT UP! This is intense and you are awesome so… just recompose and start again. There is no shame in breathing… THIS is the point!” Which honestly, was probably the best part of this practice… maybe even one of the best moments in my yoga practice…ever.

Some of you may think that’s crazy. I was in child’s pose. I wasn’t in headstand, or crow, not even pigeon or wheel… But child’s pose. I think that’s the point though… I *let it go*. For those of you who know me in real life, you may understand why that’s so huge. I may or may not be one of the most stubborn people on the planet. I also may or may not have some self esteem issues that typically feed into an “all or nothing” mentality, where I have to do things exceptionally… or not at all. It isn’t uncommon for me to not even attempt something because I think I’ll be bad at it… Which is ridiculous, because many people are bad at new things, at first.

But, I figure, I’ve already committed to doing this program. I want to succeed at doing it… So, of course that means, my stubborn self will. I may as well ACTUALLY practice yoga and not just go through the motions. That means honoring what *I* can do, in EACH moment, and not crossing that line and getting injured. After all, then my ego would be bruised too.

Now, I’m going to make the kids rub my sore triceps…

Image

Namaste,

Brin

3 Responses to "Killer Cardio"

This is so awesome (and so funny!). Good for you! I love this UY program (though it takes A LOT OF TIME HOLY SHIT.) But I think at the end of the journey, there will be a complete transformation. I am doing it now too. I tried it once before and got to Day 46 before life intervened and I bonked. Now I am back at it. I can’t wait to hear your review of “Strength.” That’s the one where the “f-word” came in for me. Just sayin’ (love that you’re blogging again, btw. You shamed me back to my blog as well. You’re a good influence!.)

Oh no! lol if I could just get my upper body to be able to do the 50 million vinyasa’s… I would love it. But chatturanga’s just kill me. I started so strong and then was like “BAM… Please God don’t let my arms get out and smash my face into the floor” lol I was mentally coaching myself “slow slow slow… drop” lol and then I just couldn’t do it anymore. I will be interested to see how my arms hold up with the every day wear. I got through 30 days in April, so I figure one way or another… I’ll get through it. I should take before and after pics of my triceps though! 😛 And I missed the blog, but it’s so hard to think of things to say. I’m glad your blog is back too!

[…] night from yesterday’s practice to today’s. Which is funny, because last week I hated cardio and didn’t mind strength. This week, I loved cario and…well… strength. […]

Leave a Reply

