Goodbye Ordinary

Manic Monday

Posted on: August 14, 2012

“It’s just another manic Monday
I wish it was Sunday
‘Cause that’s my funday
My I don’t have to runday
It’s just another manic Monday”

The Bangles

Yesterday, was a manic Monday for sure. I got so much accomplished it was kind of amazing, but I still have mountains and mountains of things to do (at work and at home). I felt like I didn’t stop at all until around 10 after the kids were both in bed and I collapsed into bed.

I realized, I didn’t snack at all yesterday, that’s how busy I was! All I had was a breakfast burrito, and a full size chicken cheese steak (half for lunch, half for dinner), and some broccoli that was fresh from the garden. Oh and of course, my typical ounces upon ounces of water.

I had class 2 of the Ashtanga primary series yesterday, it was a million times easier than the initial class, and I don’t feel nearly as sore today! Yay for progress!

I’ve decided I really love Ashtanga. This series is the first time I’ve ever felt good in warrior. Not to mention, I love binds. and lots of binds are in this series so… yay! It’s a challenging class for sure, but I feel like I’m good at it, so I like it. Sometimes it seems like certain poses are just SO unobtainable that I get discouraged. (like crow for instance. My weak little wrists just scream at me and so that’s one I don’t even like to attempt the prep for.) But for me, the poses we’ve been doing in the short form of primary, aren’t like that at all.

In wide angle seated forward fold, I was soooo close to touching my nose on the floor! I could definitely feel it in my hamstrings (stupid tight hamstrings!), but not overly uncomfortable, and ahh I was soo close!

Someday, I’ll be this awesome again. I know it’s there somewhere!

This is one of those series’ that I can not wait to get home from work and find the time to squeeze at least some Sun Salutes (both A and B) into my day, and I really cannot wait until our next class!

I just realized how many exclamation points are in this post. I apologize… kinda… no I take that back, I’m not really sorry, because I’m just that enthused about Ashtanga! lol

Namaste,

Brin

Leave a Reply

