Goodbye Ordinary

Ahhh, navasana.

Posted on: August 7, 2012

I know I’ve expressed my love for navasana before, but every time we do it in class, I’m elated. I don’t know what it is, since it kills my core and I shake like I’m being electrocuted by high voltage. But, I love it. After navasana, I feel kinda loopy and tingly all over. It’s the best prana ever. But, I even like it WHILE it’s killing me. When Kath (yogamama) guides us to smile and lift a little higher, I can’t help but to do it.

Last week we started our practice with navasana, followed by matsyasana (fish), setu bandhasana (bridge) (and chakrasana (wheel) for me), kapotasana (pigeon), runners stretch, and some happy baby & a quick yoganidrasana for me. It was such a great practice. I hadn’t done pigeon in so long.. and that makes me remember we did one other pose we hadn’t done in a long time… but, I can’t recall what it was.

I can’t ever say enough how much better that I feel when I do yoga. Why I don’t kick myself in the butt and get on the habit-making process of doing it everyday, I’m not sure. But, I am still slacking.

After yesterday’s Ashtanga Primary class, Kath told us that we should try to do at least some surya A’s and surya B’s every day, as Ashtanga is a system yoga that works best if done every day (except one, for rest). So, I’m going to start there and try to get in the daily habit of yoga again. I actually found some short(er) forms of Ashtanga, even a 15 minute one, that I have NO excuse not to work into my day.

Surya namaskara B

First thing on the agenda when I get home today, make floor space in either  my bedroom or the “jungle room” (playroom) for my mat.

Second thing, devote a whopping 15 minutes to Ashtanga.

________________________________________________________________________________________

This weekend I turned 23. My boyfriend was out of town for work, my friends were busy for the most part. and yea… it was an exciting weekend.

My lovely friend Kes invited me to a chicken barbeque, and it was a blast. I didn’t really know anyone there but everyone was so sweet and welcoming, it felt like I’d known them forever.

Then thankfully, my boyfriend got back home around 10:30 and we were able to go out with a few of my close friends for a bit. It was a pretty low-key night, but that’s how we like it. I even got a candle in my birthday shot! 🙂

Send me luck on my attempt at starting a daily practice!

Namaste,

Brin

Leave a Reply

