Goodbye Ordinary

Ashtanga. Love.

Posted on: August 6, 2012

I started a post after last week’s class… But, I forgot to finish it… However, this post deserved it’s own.. So someday (maybe tomorrow) I’ll finish that post up too…

Today started a new series. This month: Ashtanga Primary.

I hadn’t ever taken an ashtanga class. We’d done a few ashtanga versions of poses before though, and I dug them. So, I thought what the heck. Besides, the other class this month is the meditative flow, and I just am not ready for meditation. Unless it’s of the sleep variety.

I am so glad I took this class. Sooo glad.

Lesson one of Ashtanga: Do NOT wear lotion.

Lesson two: Wear airy/breathable (or minimal) clothing.

Lesson three: Be hydrated… and stay hydrated…

My arms still feel like jello. But, a strong jello.

For once, I felt strong and beautiful, while alllll sweaty in the warriors. (I normally loathe warriors).  I was hot, and rockin’ binds like you wouldn’t believe… now, if only I could get the dang balance portion of Ardha Baddha Padmottanasana.

Ohhh the balance.

The only pose I didn’t really love, was matsyasana (fish). For some reason, I just don’t have the love for fish. I think I may do it wrong, I’m straining too much or something and it kind of hurts, even though I’m trying to ease into it and stay with my body… I have only ever felt content in fish once. sheesh.

After watching some youtube videos of ashtangis just floating through each pose… holy hell. I have a lonnnng way to go. and my arm strength will need to like… grow exponentially.

The vinyasa’s between poses were killer. I have to admit. All I kept thinking was “wow, I remember when I couldn’t even chatturanga” but ow. Jello arms, fo sho. No shame though, I know if I keep it up, someday I’ll be able to breeze through intense practices like a true yogi. Someday. For now, I’ll quiver, and smile and just breathe.

Namaste,

Brin

Leave a Reply

