Goodbye Ordinary

Potty Training the Princess

Posted on: July 25, 2012

Just realized I “saved draft” on this and not “publish” from a couple weeks ago…. Oops.

I miss posting frequently, but the past few times I’ve went to post, I feel like my posts are lacking. So, I should probably write about what I know best now that the yoga challenge is over and yoga is back to just a weekly occurrence: my kids.

I know there are a million “mommy blogs” out there, and this is just going to be another, but whatev, I think we’re interesting. And besides, I can keep track of what these little devils are up to and then someday when they bring dates home I’ll be able to pull it out and embarrass them.

Some background on my parenting style, apparently I fall into the “attachment parenting” label. I didn’t know about such a type of parenting until after I had Cordelia and came across the term. But, it is definitely me. I’m also pretty much a hippie. I use cloth diapers, breast feed forever, wear my baby (well, and big kid), practice “baby led weaning” when introducing solids, and all that snazzy stuffs.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I had the diaper addiction that most cloth diapering mama’s get. They are just so freaking cute, we had a million and I STILL am tempted with some of the pretties. But, lets be honest, diapers are gross, cloth or disposable, I don’t care. Poop is gross, pee is gross. It needs to happen in the potty. Sooner rather than later. I was spoiled because the Monster pretty much potty learned at 18 months and for the most part was in the clear ever since. Of course he had accidents after that, but it wasn’t a constant thing.

Little Miss is two and she’s just starting to talk. She’s a shy little thing, and absolutely adorable, but she had absolutely no interest in the potty. She would only use it to stand on to get to something out of her reach (and she’d tote her little potty wherever she needed it to be so that she could use it as a step stool this way), she’d open it up and pour water in it, or she’d shove random toys in it and giggle when brother couldn’t find it…. But in her eyes, the potty was NOT for pee or poop.

I slowly started to get her used to the big potty, having her sit on it during diaper changes, showing her when I’d plop the poo in from her messy diapers… but still, she didn’t care.

Some OSM friends of mine tried the 3-day-potty-training method, check it out at http://www.3daypottytraining.com and it worked for them, so I thought what the heck, we can do it.

I purchased a million pairs of panties, enlisted the boyfriend and grama to help out with the Monster, and spent the weekend without taking my eyes of the little munchkin so that we could continuously run to the bathroom, and hopefully get the concept like the 3day mama claimed.

Little Miss did surprisingly well, though, she didn’t really tell ME when she had to go, rather she usually held it until I’d be like “if you want to go outside, you have to go on the potty”, or prompt her before whatever else she could do AFTER she peed… But, never-the-less, she was peeing on the potty!

Little Miss on the potty!

Every time I’d make a HUGE deal about it and so she’d get all excited to! It was pretty cute.

I’m happy to report that this was two weekends ago (so a week and a half ago), and we’ve only had 2 accidents in the past 4 days! She has even went unprompted a bunch of times!

Potty training in 3 days?! Totally possible. I love the mom who made the ebook, and I’m soooo glad I gave up a weekend to give it a go. I highly suggest the method for anyone else with potty training on the horizon. I also highly suggest some breathing techniques, because the 3 days spent doing this, will definitely test your patience and perseverance. But if you can do this, you can do anything!

Leave a Reply

