Goodbye Ordinary

Yoga pants & pumps

Posted on: June 12, 2012

I always find it slightly comical when I get done with work and head to yoga; or in some cases, leave work early to make it to a class (like on Friday’s for Happy Hour yoga!)… I come from the office, dressed in businesswear. So naturally, after yoga, I have to put my shoes back on… and yesterday, like many days, I had a little chuckle when I walked down the stairs from the studio… aqua yoga tank, black yoga capris, and raspberry pumps. Yes, I was pretty hott, as per usual. 😉

Then I got to thinking some more… I’m one of those people that prefers to be barefoot, in comfy clothes, with my hair down (brushing totally optional… and usually not done.. but I don’t go anywhere near the whole dread thing… I just like the “I don’t try to be something I’m not” look) and no, or very little (I’m talking only brown eyeliner on the bottom) make up on. But, I’ll wear professional clothes to work, be it a pants suit, a pencil skirt, or other skirt, and a nice top. Yesterday was one of those days… I was wearing a pretty skirt, a nice top, and my favorite pumps. At the office though, staying true to my inner “hippie”, I kicked off the shoes and go barefoot as much as possible.

So, basically, I’m either a barefoot businesswoman… Or a yogi in heels.

Then you factor in the chaos of my family, and I’m one pretty dynamic, multi-faceted woman.

This past weekend, we went on our first family mini-vacation with the boyfriend and the kids. We went down to Philadelphia on Saturday, ate & played at Dave & Busters, then went to the Philadelphia Zoo on Sunday. We met up with a bunch of my other “osm” moms, who I met on a babycenter birth board back in 2009 while pregnant with Little Miss, we were all due April 2010. It was a blast. The only downfalls were that we didn’t get a “family” picture at the zoo… and sweet Little Miss got sick and vomited on her brother. And when I say on him, I mean… All. Over. Him. while laying in bed. Poor kids. I’m not sure who had it worse, puking… or being puked on?

But, it was a great weekend and the boyfriend didn’t run screaming from the hotel, or the zoo… or even when we got home… So I’d say that’s a success for us all!

My sweet little family ❤

So my little yoga update… Yesterday was the first class of the core series, that I crazily signed up for… My core needs strengthened (well, really all of me needs strengthened). It was a really good class, though I was a bit nervous going into it. My arms actually felt the brunt of the workout more so than my core, as down dogs and planks tend to wear out my weak little arms (and bad wrist).

Which let me just say, having a bad wrist totally freaking blows when I’m so passionate about yoga now. I can’t do all the things I’d like to do, even if I COULD do them, because of my dang wrist! >.<

But, I have to keep in mind I’ve came a long way since November when I took my first yoga class… I not only survived the class, but as Kath would say. I totally thrived. Thrive, not survive, is something I need to do some more of. It seems like lately with the balancing act I’ve been doing I just float by on the minimal amount to survive and that’s no way to live my life… and definitely not how I got through college with 2 kids!

Hello Brin, kick it into gear!

Now that I’ve bored you all into a blog coma, and you can’t comment anyway because I haven’t figured out my WordPress issue…. please “like” and come back soon! 🙂

Namaste,

Brinny

5 Responses to "Yoga pants & pumps"

zomg, I finally figured it out and got the comments working! Oh happy day!! 🙂

I thought you looked rather cute in your pumps after yoga. And you really rocked the class. You looked like, to me, someone who has been doing yoga most of her life……

Aw thanks Sherri! It was a good class. The kapalabhati in plank about killed me… but the rest of it wasn’t too bad!

I’m wondering how the comment issue got fixed. You don’t have to explain here, but remember to tell me the next time I kill, I mean, LEAD you in yoga. Sorry about the wrist issue. sucks…

I wish I could “like” this lol

It was actually simple, I stumbled upon yet another person’s “why is this happening to me?!” post, and found that for wahtever reason, the “discussion” section (that is by default hidden and controlled by your overall comment settings… which mine were enabled) was mysteriously unselected. So when I manually went in to discussion section (on the posts individually that were effected) and “checked” those boxes, voila.

Leave a Reply

