Goodbye Ordinary

Day 33: Morning Meltiness

Posted on: May 3, 2012

Ohh, I have apparently missed morning practice. I wish I was more of a morning person so I could make it on a more regular basis, I love it when I do. It’s just soo hard because I’m a night owl. So, I’m going to try my best to make it to the studio at least once a week throughout the summer. My work schedule may shift from 8-5 to 5-5. So… I won’t be able to make mornings when that shift takes place. Boo.

The good thing is, I’m getting into my groove in a home practice. (Well, only 2 practices so far… But it’s a start!) I need to get some yoga music though. For now, pandora works okay. I’ve been using the “white noise” channel. But I do prefer the music we use in class. Like Alexi Murdoch’s Breathe. Favorite.

Alexi Murdoch: check him out on Youtube!

This morning’s class was awesome. I used my new mat (Manduka Eko Lite), and man… does it smell! lol Definitely need to air it out between use and break it in. I got a bit slick on it today, but I know once it’s broken it it’ll be as awesome as the one Kath has. I just have to stick it out.

We started with some leg stretches, on our backs, using the strap, and a bit of hips with leg circles. We did cat/cows and barrell rolls(which are one of my favorite things ever). Down dogs forever. I so wish I had more arm strength. My arms are so weak that even lengthy down dogs are difficult. My chatturanga is getting so awesome though. I can low push up and hover, and it’s exhilarating. I still need to build up the strength so I can swoop forward into up dog, but it’s a start. When I attempt it, I just end up belly flopping… In November  though, I couldn’t even barely hold blank for one breath, lowering down was a complete joke, so I’m definitely not complaining. I am super proud of myself for coming this far and sticking with it even though I’m not perfect.

I’m still revelling in the meltiness that came with this mornings practice. I am hoping it sticks around all day.

Namaste,

Brin

Leave a Reply

