Goodbye Ordinary

Day 23: Falling toward Contentment

Posted on: April 23, 2012

What in the heck was up with today’s weather in the northeast? REALLY?! It’s spring. Spring is not characterized by 6-8″ of snow. But, today was.

My grama so wonderfully clearing off my car while I was getting ready for work

I woke up this morning to go to the morning class and looked out the window… Saw the white blanket of freshly fallen snow covering everything and instead of getting ready to go… I crawled right back into bed. I had slept pretty fitfully (though I went to bed super early by my standards) and needed the extra hour. When I woke up again around 6:30 I felt refreshed and ready to go. I could have happily had a yoga session right then but… I showered instead and headed to work.

Our road was pretty shitty and there seemed to be lots of branches overstepping their boundaries and encroaching upon the roadways… But, I made it to work in one piece and even without any near-fatalities. Success!

Work was pretty great today. I felt super motivated and I got a lot done. Tackling a mountain of paperwork that we’ve been putting off for months and ended up slimming it down to a manageable amount of work that we still need to do. I was so into all my projects that 5pm came and I had no idea. Luckily my boss, who needs a quirky cool nickname for the purposes of this blog, but my mind isn’t in that mode so… I’ll have to figure one out later :P, was like “what time are you leaving tonight? no yogurt?” and I grabbed my stuff and dashed out of the door, rushing to secure a spot & get that magical stone!

Boy was I glad I did. This week’s theme is… no theme! Which stresses me out, but is exciting. Today’s was “balance poses” and man, I loved it. I know a lot of people hate balance poses… and ya, they’re pretty hard. But I am usually an oddball (hello, I love navasana even though it makes me feel like I’m about to die), and I had a blast attempting to balance. I did a pretty good tree… my flamingo rocked… and the other one we did on our “barbie feet” (which made me giggle every time) aka tippy toes, with zombie arms (out in front) and you move your arms from side to side, while using the back of your hands as your drishti… that one was freaking hard. I just giggled and couldn’t focus for the most part. “Barbie feet” where does Kath think of this stuff? lol

Class started with Kath leading a discussion about falling (which is why most people hate balance poses), how almost everyone hates to trip/fall and gets embarrassed.  The first thing we do after tripping is what? Looking around to see if anyone saw us trip. I admit, I do that very time, and of course my cheeks turn as red as a ripe cherry tomato.  Why do we do that?! At class, we all decided it was because when we trip, it makes us feel vulnerable. For that split second our guard was down. Something got through it, and we were imperfect.

The past year or so I’ve been on this personal journey. Accepting my flaws, my mistakes… Becoming content with the things from my past that I regret (or at least, used to). Wow, that sounds like a line from a Rascal Flatts song… Anyway… Why is it that when we fall, we instinctively get embarrassed and worried what people are thinking/saying about us? Why is our first response to guard ourselves even more against any onlookers that are “judging” us.

How many times have you SEEN someone else trip and thought to yourself: “wow, what an idiot?”. I was thinking that earlier… If I see someone do that, I usually feel bad for them because I know they probably are mortified that they just almost ate it in public. If they drop something, I usually try to help. I really don’t think (with some exceptions) everyone is judging is in those situations because in most cases… they probably know that the sidewalk is uneven, or that you’re preoccupied texting and walking (which should be a crime because dang, that is tricky!), or they probably are too involved in THEIR cell phone to even notice that you exist, let alone that you almost faceplanted right in front of them.

We really need to stop caring so much about what we THINK everyone else thinks. We need to stop worrying about everyone else,period. We have to start doing what makes us happy. What about our life are we perfectly content with? What aren’t you okay with that you can change? Focus all of that judgmental energy into that instead, 9/10 the person judging you the most, is you.

Namaste,

<<Yogagirl

Leave a Reply

