Goodbye Ordinary

Day 10: Honoring your ability

Posted on: April 10, 2012

Goooood morning!

I’ve been up for over three hours already :O. Insanity, I know.

Woke up, went to the morning class, and got alllll the kinks worked out. I don’t think I’ve ever felt so alive. My body is a touch sore already, from today and the past few days of practice. But it feels so good! I could use a nap today though, I’m pretty worn out from life and lack of sleep. Sadly, that doesn’t seem to go along with the gas and oil field industry. Boo, we all could use a daily post-lunch nap!

I forgot to mention one thing from yesterday: my low push-up is coming along amazingly well. When I started in November, I could barely bend my elbows before I had to collapse on the floor. Plank killed me the instant that I got my hips into position. But now, my plank is improving everyday, and I can lower to within a few inches from the floor. Granted, I still am not able to push myself back up and do a real push up… BUT I can *sometimes* glide forward to up-dog without going all the way down. That’s a huge feat for me and I’m so proud of myself for sticking with yoga this long and seeing the changes in my body. I made the boyfriend watch me chattaranga last night and he said he even saw the start of some tricep definition. Whhattt?! 😛

Back to today. Practice was de-lish-us. I may be remembering it incorrectly, but we seemed to spend more time in each pose than usual. Not overly so, but enough that I really got to sink into them and let go. Today’s combination of hamstring stretches, hip openers, and bridge balanced out yesterday’s warrior heavy practice beautifully. I can still feel the wrath of the warrior through my neck/shoulders. Warrior’s kind of kill me. Well, most balance poses kind of kill me. I’m a clutz. Like, really. I often blame the children when I am covered in bruises…or more realistically… food. (ha… just for the sake of full disclosure, on Easter… I totally took a plate full of seconds… and then dropped the ENTIRE thing square in my lap.) << NO KIDS AROUND ME. I am just THAT awesome. Hard to believe I could get any cooler. But, I’m full of surprises, so don’t write me off yet. lol But yea, it’s pretty ridiculous how many times I get hurt, or covered in something and have no idea how it even happened. Right now I have a scrape on the back of my hand.. Yes, back. and have no idea how I got there. and boy does it hurt! So yes, even the most clutzy people can do yoga.

Don’t be discouraged, just get on the horse..er…mat! and remember the rule of classroom yoga, if you fall… take someone down with you!

Image from: A slacker yogi's guide to practice part one

One thing I think we all need to remember as yogi’s is that we can only do what we can do. With perserverance, lots and lots of effort, sweat, and heart, that ability will grow to a point, but we will never be just like any other person. That’s the beauty of it. You can find the full extension of yourself. You must not judge yourself based on others, instead honor your ability and your effort. You are amazing, and if you’re doing the best you can, that is the most awesome thing that you can do for yourself and for your practice. Don’t push too hard, just keep pushing, period.

And now to get back to work…

Namaste,

<<Yogagirl

Leave a Reply

